Kim, Eric. Street Photography: 50 Ways to Capture Better Shots of Ordinary Life. New York: DEXT, 2015. Kindle.  

  • “What exactly is street photography? Simply put, it is capturing the beauty in the mundane, and ordinary people doing everyday things. It is capturing a slice of life unedited and raw. It is an affirmation of the world around us and all the things we often too busy to notice.” (Introduction)
  • “If your photos aren’t good enough, then you’re not close enough.” – Robert Capa (Chapter 1)
  • An important part of street photography is getting close to your subject. It creates a feeling of intimacy, and makes the viewer feel like they are a part of the scene rather than just watching. (Chapter 1)
  • “You can walk down the same street over and over and not much changes except for the people. They’re always different even from one second to the next.” – Blake Andrews (Chapter 3)
  • “I love the people I photograph. I mean, they’re my friends. I’ve never met most of them or I don’t know them at all, yet through my images I live with them.” – Bruce Gilden (Chapter 5)
  • “Stare. It is the way to educate your eye and more. Stare, pry, listen, eavesdrop. Die knowing something. You are not here long.” – Walker Evans (Chapter 6)
